The ceremony to announce the winners of the 9th Sergio Motta Art and Technology Awards was held at Museu da Imagem do Som São Paulo (MIS_SP) on October 3. Curated by Giselle Beiguelman, this year’s awards distributed R$ 15,000 in prizes for early-career artists, 2 prizes worth R$ 30,000 for mid-career artists, and a Hors Concours prize of R$ 40,000.

Nominees for the Early and Mid-Career categories were selected from 352 portfolios entered between May 2 and August 6, 2011. All portfolios were submitted to the two committees who unanimously selected the 12 finalists and 6 award winners. Nominating Committee – Adriana Amaral (RS), Clarissa Diniz (PE), Eduardo Jesus (MG), Marcos Boffa (SP) and Priscila Farias (SP);Awards Committee – Claudia Assef (SP), Cícero Silva (SP), Ivana Bentes (RJ), Tadeu Chiarelli (SP) and Tiago Mesquita (SP).

Award winners in the Early and Mid-Career categories:

Early Career
mmnehcft & MANIFESTO21.TV
Pablo Lobato
Vivian Caccuri

Lucas Bambozzi
Zaven Paré

The Hors Concours award went to the Pernambucan artist Paulo Bruscky, whose artistic production since the 1970s has focused on avant-garde experimental work through performance, installation, intervention, video and multimedia language projects. The award is for creative artists whose outstanding work has been recognized by the artistic community in the Art and Technology segment in Brazil. It too was unanimously decided by the 9th Sergio Motta Art and Technology organizing, nominations and award committees.

In addition to the above prizes, this year’s Awards honored the artist Diana Domingues from Rio Grande do Sul for her 15-year career and her major contribution to art and technology in Brazil.