The Selection and Awards committees for the 9th Sergio Motta Art and Technology Awards, coordinated by Giselle Beiguelman, are announcing 12 artists nominated for 2011, from a total of 352 entries. Artists entering for this year’s awards were subjected to two stages of jury selection.
Selection Commission: Adriana Amaral (RS), Clarissa Diniz (PE), Eduardo Jesus (MG), Marcos Boffa (SP) and Priscila Farias (SP). Awards Commission: Claudia Assef (SP), Cicero Silva (SP), Ivana Bentes (RJ), Tadeu Chiarelli (SP) and Tiago Mesquita (SP).

Nominees in the Early-Career category:
Alice Miceli
Claudio Bueno
mmnehcft & MANIFESTO21.TV
Pablo Lobato
Ricardo Carioba
Vivian Caccuri

Nominees for the Mid-Career category:
Dias & Riedweg
Lucas Bambozzi
Raquel Kogan
Zaven Paré

Portfolio readings
On October 2, there will be readings of the portfolios of the finalists shortlisted for the 9th Awards, which will take place individually with the presence of two art critics, one international and one Brazilian. Portfolio readings will be open to the public and take place at Museu da Imagem e do Som (MIS).

Award winners and the Hors Concours winner will be announced at a ceremony at Museu da Imagem e do Som (MIS) on October 3.

9th Sergio Motta Art and Technology Awards
In order to showcase new work in 2011, the Awards program will be distributing R$160,000 to four young artists and two mid-career artists, in addition to the traditional hors concourse award.

Those interested may register for the ‘Individual’ or ‘Pair or Collective’ category and send in their portfolios. Curated by Giselle Beiguelman, this year’s awards are divided into the following categories:

4 awards for young artists with documented art careers of 2 years or more – R$ 15,000 each; and

2 awards for artists with documented careers of at least 10 years – R$ 30,000 each;

1 Hors Concours award for an artist or theorist working in the areas covered, as recognition for their work as a whole- R$40,000